cashew milk (raw food basics)

21 thoughts on “cashew milk (raw food basics)”

  1. I really appreciate that you are into raw now b/c it’s what I wanna do; it’s intimidating but, as usual, you make it all so easy. I feel the same way about my brave little blender and have refused to get one of the $400+ ones. I wonder if a simple blender combined with a food processor (which I’ve been too shy to start using) can do most things in a raw diet…
    Thanks for this blog, I do love it and need to make a more regular use of your tips and ideas!

    1. Thank you! I’m glad that my passion for learning the basics of raw food is spreading! : )
      I have a food processor, a brave little blender (as you say!), and most recently a food dehydrator. The food dehydrator is spectacular, and pretty soon I will be making raw crackers, breads, and cookies with it!
      There is one more tool that I would like to add, and that’s a juicer. My friend is going to let me borrow hers soon, so that will be really nice.
      Yes, raw foods “cooking” is very intimidating at first, but don’t worry, with time and patience it gets easier and easier. I have found that it is best to learn one new skill at a time, step by step, as to not overwhelm myself with information and techniques before even learning the basics! It’s ALL about thinking ahead and being prepared, looking out for your future self. It’s nice though, because that thought process starts to rub off in other areas of life, areas that could use a little more consideration!
      Good luck on your raw foods journey, and keep me updated on how it’s treating you! : )

  2. Wondering if you can direct me to an easy recipe for making loaf bread. The regular french type bread is too tricky, having to toss water in the hot oven, not having a baking stone, yadda yadda. I’m talking about a nutty, hearty sandwich bread type loaf, the rectangular type. Maybe you could do a blog entry on this topic? Thank you again!

    1. I actually have never made bread, and right when I was thinking I ought to, I got all caught up in raw foods! BUT… the good news is that I got this awesome recipe for making a raw bread, that I will be posting very soon! : ) And it just so happens to be hearty and nutty, although thin, but very dense and filling. It’s a recipe from The Green Boheme (a raw vegan restaurant here in Sacramento) and their bread (and food) is AMAZING!

      1. I don’t plan on being radical and just eating raw. I do love a hot soup in winter, for instance. Do you see a disadvantage of mixing raw and cooked, nutritionally speaking or is it just your personal goal to stick to raw only?

      2. I think that as long as you incorporate more raw foods into your diet that you will feel benefits from doing so.
        My personal goal is to immerse myself in raw foods 100% for a few months, to really learn the techniques and also to feel the benefits first hand. Then we will see where I go from there. I do love cooked foods, so I could just end up with a mostly raw diet, with cooked foods here and there.

  3. Oh man, cashew milk is my favorite, I’m also really into hemp milk though it’s a bit more grassy tasting.

    p.s. if you have a power blender, no straining is needed with cashew or hemp. Only almond milk needs the strain. Sorry 😉

    1. So that’s what the fancy blenders are good for… making straining unnecessary! Alright.. perhaps a vitamix is something worth saving up for anyhow. Don’t tell my blender!
      Hemp seeds finally arrived at my coop, and I got some, so perhaps I will be making some hemp milk soon as well : )

      1. Scott Jureks Eat & Run book says 1/4 C. hemp seeds to 4 C. water. If you soak they shouldn’t need straining because they are so tiny to begin with. Of course you can sweeten with a bit of raw agave and add a pinch of sea salt to minimize grassiness 🙂

        Oh and I won’t tell your blender, he/she sounds like they are working really hard to stay in your kitchen at the moment!

  4. YUM – I make almond milk all the time but I have not attempted cashew milk … I make “cheeeze” with cashews a lot but I think the super nutty flavor of the cashews would be an odd milk… do you like it better than almond milk?

    1. I like almond milk, but I can’t find any true raw almonds in a bikeable vicinity, but I can find raw cashews! I wanted to give cashews a try. I think it’s pretty tasty, I use it in smoothies mostly, so it adds a definite richness to them. If I were to drink it by itself I would add honey or vanilla beans or something to make it a tad bit sweeter.

  5. Nice! Do you think I could basically follow the same steps to make almond milk? I mean rather than first making almond butter? (…actually I guess once you’ve soaked either cashews or almonds and then added them to the blender, it basically amounts to the same thing, whether you call it nut “butter” or not…)

    1. Yeah I’m sure you could just substitute almonds for cashews with this, or any nut really! The amount of water you put in there depends on how thick/thin you want your milk. I say start with less, because you can always add more water if you need it. Plus creamy nut milks.. yummmm! : )

    1. It’s super simple! For the longest time I was intimidated by making a homemade nut milk… and now I just feel silly for not trying it sooner and seeing how amazing simple and delicious it is!
      I really like the cashew milk… because it is rich and creamy! It’s delicious in smoothies : )

Leave a Reply

